The bull

The Golden Bull is the unchanging symbol of the Liège International Comedy Film Festival (FIFCL).

Strong and powerful, just like the Torré of the city of Liège and our desire to push back the boundaries of audacity and imagination.

From the outset, our awards have been shaped and engraved by Liège glass sculptor Constant Beerden. Born in Ougrée (Seraing) in 1964, the artist uses and magnifies glass, which he contrasts with other materials such as bluestone and metal, to highlight the transparency of glass. His work can be found in many museums and galleries in Belgium and abroad.


Copyright: Valentin Conraads

Relive the history of the Golden Bull


The international jury, chaired by Julie Ferrier, awarded the Golden Bull to ” Simple comme Sylvain ” (Canada), directed by Monia Chokri and starring Magalie Lépine Blondeau, Pierre-Yves Cardinal and Christine Beaulieu.

Gérard Lanvin (“Le Boulet” by Alain Berberian and Frédéric Forestier, “Papi Sitter” by Philippe Guillard and “Les Lyonnais” by Olivier Marchal), Nathalie Baye (“Sauve qui peut (la vie)” by Jean-Luc Godard, “Arrête-moi si tu peux” by Steven Spielberg, “Haute Couture” by Sylvie Ohayon), Dany Boon (“Bienvenue chez les Ch’tis” by Dany Boon, “Radin!” by Fred Cavayé, “Une belle course” by Christian Carion), Franck Dubosc (“Camping” by Fabien Onteniente, “Bis” by Dominique Farrugia, “Rumba la vie” by Franck Dubosc) and Marie-Anne Chazel (“Les Bronzés font du ski” by Patrice Leconte, “Le père Noël est une ordure” by Jean-Marie Poiré, as well as “Les Ombres de Lisieux” by Nicolas Guicheteau) are celebrated for their careers and awarded a Taureau d’or d’honneur.


La mia ombra è tua ” (Italy) by Eugenio Cappuccio, starring Marco Giallini, Isabella Ferrari and Claudio Bigagli, won the Golden Bull under the watchful eye of Bernard Farcy, President of the International Jury.

FIFCL also celebrates the careers ofAndré Dussollier (“Tanguy” by Étienne Chatiliez, “Le crime est notre affaire” by Pascal Thomas or “Tais-toi!” by Francis Veber), Karin Viard (“Une nuit” by Alex Lutz, “Maria rêve” by Lauriane Escaffre and Yvonnick Muller, “Nouveau départ” by Philippe Lefebvre), Patrick Bruel (“Le Prénom” by Alexandre de La Patellière and Matthieu Delaporte, “Tu veux ou tu veux pas” by Tonie Marshall, “Villa Caprice” by Bernard Stora) and Christian Clavier (“Les Visiteurs” by Jean-Marie Poiré, “Astérix et Obélix : Mission Cléopâtre” by Alain Chabat or “Une heure de tranquillité” by Patrice Leconte): they received a Golden Bull of Honor, as did Gérard Jugnot (Jean-Marie Poiré’s “Le père Noël est une ordure”, Christophe Barratier’s “Faubourg 36” and Gérard Krawczyk’s “L’Auberge rouge”).

Benoît Poelvoorde (“C’est arrivé près de chez vous” by Rémy Belvaux, André Bonzel and Benoît Poelvoorde, “Podium” by Yann Moix, “Le Boulet” by Alain Berberian and Frédéric Forestier), meanwhile, is (finally) receiving the Best Actor prize he was awarded in 1992 by the Stiges Film Festival (Spain) for his performance in “C’est arrivé près de chez vous”. Absent from the ceremony, he was unable to receive the first award of his prestigious career. Better (30 years later) than never!


Tolo Tolo ” (Italy), directed by Checco Zalone and starring Luca Pasquale Medici, Souleymane Sylla and Manda Touré, was the undisputed winner of this 6th edition, presided over by Vincent Desagnat.

François Berléand (“Le Transporteur” by Louis Leterrier and Corey Yuen, “Les Choristes” by Christophe Barratier, “Mon idole” by Guillaume Canet) and Guillaume de Tonquédec (“Le Prénom” by Alexandre de La Patellière and Matthieu Delaporte, “Plancha” by Éric Lavaine, “SMS” by Gabriel Julien-Laferrière) each received an honorary Golden Bull. Kev Adams (“Les Profs” by Pierre-François Martin-Laval, “Love Addict” by Frank Bellocq, “Tout là-haut” by Serge Hazanavicius) also received an honorary distinction (coup de cœur du FIFCL).


This year’s Covid-19 reveals a new form of FIFCL. For one week, it becomes the festival of short comedy films, and adds a new jury member: the public! A total of 1,618 spectators cast their votes remotely, under the guidance of President Ambre Grouwels. They reward the short film ” Le syndrome d’Archibald “, by Daniel Perez.


The Golden Bull is awarded to the film ” Docteur ? ” (France), by Tristan Séguéla, starring Michel Blanc, Hakim Jemili and Fadily Camara.

Mylène Demongeot (André Hunebelle’s “Fantomas”, Fabien Onteniente’s “Camping” and Michel Boisrond’s “Faibles Femmes”) chairs the International Jury, which does not prevent her from receiving an honorary distinction. Thierry Lhermitte (“Le Dîner de cons” by Francis Veber, “Ripoux contre ripoux” by Claude Zidi, “La Finale” by Robin Sykes), Clovis Cornillac (“Brice de Nice” by James Huth, “Protéger et servir” by Éric Lavaine, “Monsieur le Maire” by Karine Blanc and Michel Tavarès), Élie Semoun (The “Ducobu” saga, “Asterix at the Olympic Games” by Frédéric Forestier and Thomas Langmann, and “Neuilly sa mère!” by Gabriel Julien-Laferrière) have been awarded an honorary Golden Bull.


The Golden Bull is awarded to ” Tel Aviv On Fire ” (Israel), directed by Sameh Zoabi, starring Kais Nashif, Lubna Azabal and Yaniv Biton.

Stéphane Guillon chairs the International Jury, while Josiane Balasko (Patrice Leconte’s “Les Bronzés” saga, Jean-Marie Poiré’s “Le père Noël est une ordure”, Éric Lavaine’s “Retour chez ma mère”) receives an honorary Golden Bull for her immense career. Director Jean-Marie Poiré (“Les Visiteurs”, “Papy fait de la résistance”, “Les Anges gardiens”, “L’Opération Corned Beef”) was also honored.


Se Dio Vuole ” (Italy), by Edoardo Falcone, with Marco Giallini, Alessandro Gassman and Laura Morante, wins the Golden Bull.

Gérard Darmon, President of the International Jury, receives an honorary Golden Bull for his entire career (“La Cité de la peur” by Alain Berberian, “Astérix et Obélix : Mission Cléopâtre” by Alain Chabat and “Le Cœur des hommes” by Marc Esposito). Pierre-François Martin-Laval (“RRRrrrr !!!” by Alain Chabat, “L’Homme parfait” by Xavier Durringer and “Les Meilleurs Amis du monde” by Julien Rambaldi) receives an honorary distinction.


The very first Golden Bull in the history of the FIFCL is awarded to the film ” Going To Brazil ” (France), by Patrick Mille, starring Vanessa Guide, Alison Wheeler and Philippine Stindel. Éric Judor is President of the International Jury. Daniel Prévost (“Le Dîner de cons” by Francis Veber, “La Maison du bonheur” by Dany Boon, “Les Petits Ruisseaux” by Pascal Rabaté) receives a Taureau d’or d’honneur for lifetime achievement.

They were honored at FIFCL

Daniel Prévost

Copyright Gilles Charlier

François Berléand

Copyright François Berléand/Time Art

Josiane Balasko

Copyright Philippe Quaisse/UniFrance

Élie Semoun

Copyright Pascal Ito

Thierry Lhermitte

Copyright Julien Cauvin

Kev Adams / Coup de cœur jeunesse

Copyright Luc Magette

Jean-Marie Poiré

Copyright Jean-Marie Poiré

Alex Lutz

Copyright Arno Lam

Clovis Cornillac

Copyright Agence VMA

Guillaume de Tonquédec

Copyright Arno Lam/Charlette Studio

Gérard Darmon

Président du Jury International 2017
Copyright Stéphane de Bourgies

Mylène Demongeot

Présidente du Jury International 2019

Gérard Jugnot

Copyright Gérard Jugnot

Christian Clavier

Copyright Thibault Trillet

Patrick Bruel

Copyright Sandrine Gomez

André Dussollier

Copyright Jean-François Robert

Benoît Poelvoorde

Copyright Alessandro Carà

Gérard Lanvin

Nathalie Baye

Dany Boon

Franck Dubosc

Marie-Anne Chazel